Richard North, 14/01/2005  

Not content with dragging the UK through the merde over its lack of conformity with EU environmental laws, environment commissioner Stavros Dimas has added another seven countries to his black-list, with Ireland at the head, on account of its "sheer number of environmental offences".

The other six are: Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Finland, Sweden and Denmark.

Dimis says these seven government would be taken before the ECJ "to answer charges they had broken or not properly applied European environment laws."

"I am determined", he says, "to ensure that member states implement the environmental initiatives they have agreed to properly and on time. Missing deadlines or implementing legislation poorly delays our efforts to reduce pollution and improve the environment - a vital task that a large majority of Europe's citizens look to us to carry out effectively."

Has he talked to his own government recently?

comments powered by Disqus

Brexit - the first year - New e-book by Richard North
Brexit - the first year - New e-book by Richard North
Buy Now

Log in

Sign THA
Think Defence

The Many, Not the Few